top of page

Club Information


Formed in 1913, The University of Western Australia Cricket Club (commonly known as the UCC or UWACC) has a rich history as one of the first cricket clubs in the Western Australian Cricket Association Premier Cricket Competition.


The University of Western Australia commenced courses in 1913 and the UCC was established in the same year, entering the WACA competition in the 1913-14 season. The club can proudly say that it was the first sporting club associated with the University. The club has fielded four grade sides in the WACA Premier Cricket Competition every season since 1947-48.


The WACA competition's eligibility rules for the club have changed over the years, which have affected the club's ability to field experienced players. The club´s most successful period was during the 1950s and 1960s, with the first three of its eight first Grade premierships coming within four seasons (1951-52, 1953-54 and 1954-55).  The WACA has recently updated the competition's eligibility rules which has resulted in the club being able to field players not necessarily having to be at an Australian University (or be a University graduate).

The club is based at the UWA Irwin Street Building, with our first / second grade home games and club training being held at James Oval (the University's Main Oval). Our lower grades play their home games at University Sports Park (McGillivray Oval).

Nine Australian Test players have appeared for UCC at some stage of their careers:  John Rutherford, Laurie Mayne, John Inverarity, Tony Mann, Rod Marsh, Wally Edwards, Graeme Wood, Chris Rogers and Ashton Agar.  Ken MacLeay has been an Australian one-day representative, while Jock Irvine was in an Australian touring team to South Africa. There have also been numerous UCC players to have played first class cricket at some stage of their careers.


UCC is proud to currently have 3 x professionally contracted players in Ash Agar, Club Captain Charlie Stobo and Corey Rocchiccioli.

If you wish to be a part of the Club, please get in touch with us via the Contact Us link.

Club Committee

Office Bearers
President: Mitchell Rosher (
Vice-President: Kevan Penter
Secretary: Sam Howieson
Treasurer: Scott Howieson (

General Committee
WACA Delegate & Child Safe Officer: Christian Bauer
Peter Cutler
Mitchell Drennan
Tom Gosling
Bernard Greyling
 Zander Melville
Joshua Watt
Tim Young

bottom of page