The Club


Formed in 1913, The University of Western Australia Cricket Club (commonly known as the UCC or UWACC) has a rich history as one of the first cricket clubs in the Western Australian Cricket Association Premier Cricket Competition.


The University of Western Australia commenced courses in 1913 and the UWACC was established in the same year, entering the WACA competition in the 1913-14 season. The club can proudly say that it was the first sporting club associated with the University. The club has fielded four grade sides in the WACA Premier Cricket Competition every season since 1950-61.


The WACA competition's eligibility rules for the club have changed over the years, which have effected the club's ability to field experienced players. The club´s most successful period was during the 1950s and 1960s, with the first three of its eight First Grade premierships coming within four seasons (1951-52, 1953-54 and 1954-55).  The WACA has recently updated the competitions eligibility rules which has resulted in the club being able to field players not necessarily having to be at an Australian University (or be a University graduate).

The club is based at the UWA Irwin Building, with our first / second grade home games and club training being played at James Oval (the University's Main Oval). Our lower grades play their home games at the University Sport Park (McGilvray Oval).

Nine Australian Test players have appeared for UCC at some stage of their careers:  John Rutherford, Laurie Mayne, John Inverarity, Tony Mann, Rod Marsh, Wally Edwards, Graeme Wood, Chris Rogers and Ashton Agar.  Ken MacLeay has been an Australian one-day representative, while Jock Irvine was in an Australian touring team to South Africa. There have also been numerous UCC players to have played first class cricket at some stage of their careers.

President: Oliver Cownie

Vice President: Viv Paver

Secretary: Mitch Rosher

Treasurer: Scott Howieson

General Member: Christian Bauer

General Member: Dan English

General Member: Greg Gabbedy

General Member: Bernard Greyling

General Member: Robin Lines

General Member: Kevan Penter

General Member: Corey Rocchiccioli

General Member: Dav Singh

Director of Cricket / Head Coach: Will Stibbs

High Performance Coach:  Perry Allen

Senior Assistant Coach (+Batting & Wicketkeeping Coach): Ian Thacker

Batting Coach: Viv Paver

Fast Bowling Coach: Terry Aldermann

Spin Coach: Tom Hogan

UWACC Player Mentor: Chris Sabburg

Since 1913

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram